Monday, July 2, 2012

Album,Christmas Spirit 1994

Christmas Spirit is a Christmas-themed album by Donna Summer, released in 1994. Summer's Gospel music background is very evident on this album which consists of traditional and well-known Christmas songs and carols, as well as new original songs and a cover of Amy Grant's "Breath of Heaven (Mary's Song)".
Christmas Spirit was produced by Michael Omartian, who had collaborated with Summer on the albums She Works Hard for the Money and Cats Without Claws in the early 1980s, both as a producer and composer. On this album Omartian also co-wrote the tracks "Christmas Is Here" and "Lamb of God" with Summer, and the title track alongside Summer and her husband Bruce Sudano. Traditional carols "O Come All Ye Faithful," "What Child Is This," "Do You Hear What I Hear?," "Joy To The World" and "O Holy Night" are featured alongside "White Christmas", "The Christmas Song" and "I'll Be Home for Christmas," all of which are famous Christmas songs.
Christmas Spirit was re-issued by Universal Music on the Mercury label in 2005 under the title 20th Century Masters: The Best of Donna Summer: The Christmas Collection.

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "White Christmas"   Irving Berlin 2:55
2. "The Christmas Song"   Mel Tormé, Bob Wells 4:20
3. "O Come All Ye Faithful"   Frederick Oakeley, John Francis Wade 4:40
4. "Christmas is Here"   Donna Summer, Michael Omartian, Bruce Sudano 3:22
5. "Christmas Medley: What Child Is This?" / "Do You Hear What I Hear?" / "Joy to the World"   Dix, Handel, Regney, Shayne 5:20
6. "I'll Be Home for Christmas"   Buck Ram, Kim Gannon, Walter Kent 3:30
7. "Christmas Spirit"   Donna Summer, Michael Omartian, Bruce Sudano 4:53
8. "Breath of Heaven"   Amy Grant, Chris Eaton 6:04
9. "O Holy Night"   Adolphe Adam, John Sullivan Dwight 4:12
10. "Lamb of God"   Omartian, Summer 7:24


  • Michael Omartian – Producer
  • Donna Summer – Vocals

No comments:

Post a Comment