Monday, July 2, 2012

Album,Bad Girls 1979

Bad Girls is the seventh studio album by American pop singer Donna Summer, released April 25, 1979 on Casablanca Records. Originally issued as a double album, it incorporates such musical styles as disco, soul, and rock. Bad Girls became the best-selling album of Summer's recording career, achieving double platinum sales certification in the United States, and selling approximately four million copies total worldwide.


Since the release of her breakthrough album which contained the sexually arousing "Love to Love You Baby", Summer had been nicknamed "the First Lady of Love" in the press and her record label wanted her to keep this image, despite the fact that she was never truly comfortable with it. Several years later, Summer became addicted to prescription medication. Upon her recovery, Summer set to work on her new album with long-time partners Giorgio Moroder and Pete Bellotte, as well as various others she had not worked with before. By this time, although disco music was still popular, other styles such as punk and heavy metal were also doing well on the charts, so the team decided to incorporate a rockier sound into some of the songs. Other songs had a more soul/R&B feel to them, and in all it was probably Summer's most diverse album to date. The fusion of rock and disco was particularly evident, and synthesizers were used to augment the sound for a more electronic and dance oriented electro music in the first two songs on the album - "Hot Stuff" and "Bad Girls", which also became the first two singles to be released from the album. Both were huge hits and made number one on the American singles chart. The former also won Summer a Grammy Award for Best Female Rock Vocal Performance and became popular again in the 1990s when used in the British film The Full Monty. "Dim All the Lights" was the third single and also became a huge hit, peaking at number two in the U.S.

Release and reception

The album became her best-selling album ever, currently double platinum, at over 2 million copies sold in the U.S. and shifting about four million total worldwide. It also became her second consecutive number-one album in the U.S., spending in addition three weeks at number one in Canada on the RPM 100 national albums chart. As well as the aforementioned Grammy Award for "Hot Stuff" (Best Female Rock Vocal Performance), the song "Bad Girls" was also nominated for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance and Best Disco Recording. "Dim All the Lights" was nominated for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance and the album itself was nominated for Album of the Year.
The year 1979 ended with Casablanca releasing a Donna Summer greatest hits double-album, which also included a couple of new songs, one being the hit single On the Radio. For her next studio album, Summer wanted to branch out into other formats of music but she and the label could not come to an agreement on her musical direction. Summer instead opted to sign a new deal with Geffen Records, the then-new label formed by David Geffen. Her first album with Geffen Records was more rock/new wave oriented, a format Summer had always liked, not to mention there had been a "disco backlash". In the meantime, Casablanca chose to release more singles from the Bad Girls album; "Sunset People" and "Walk Away". "Walk Away" became a moderate hit reaching the top 40. Casablanca/PolyGram also released a special edition compilation entitled Walk Away - Greatest Hits 1977-1980, which featured a selection of her hits from the Bad Girls period and the preceding years. In 2003 Universal Music, owners of the Casablanca/PolyGram back catalogue since 1998, re-issued Bad Girls as a digitally remastered and expanded deluxe edition.

Track listing

Original LP

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "Hot Stuff"   Pete Bellotte, Harold Faltermeyer, Keith Forsey 5:14
2. "Bad Girls"   Donna Summer, Joe "Bean" Esposito, Edward "Eddie" Hokenson, Bruce Sudano 4:55
3. "Love Will Always Find You"   Pete Bellotte, Giorgio Moroder 3:59
4. "Walk Away"   Pete Bellotte, Harold Faltermeyer 4:29
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
5. "Dim All the Lights"   Donna Summer 4:40
6. "Journey to the Center of Your Heart"   Pete Bellotte, Giorgio Moroder 4:36
7. "One Night in a Lifetime"   Pete Bellotte, Harold Faltermeyer 4:12
8. "Can't Get to Sleep At Night"   Bob Conti, Bruce Sudano 4:42
Side three
No. Title Writer(s) Length
9. "On My Honor"   Donna Summer, Harold Faltermeyer, Bruce Sudano 3:32
10. "There Will Always Be a You"   Donna Summer 5:07
11. "All Through the Night"   Donna Summer, Bruce Roberts 6:06
12. "My Baby Understands"   Donna Summer 3:58
Side four
No. Title Writer(s) Length
13. "Our Love"   Donna Summer, Giorgio Moroder 4:52
14. "Lucky"   Donna Summer, Giorgio Moroder, Joe "Bean" Esposito, Edward "Eddie" Hokenson, Bruce Sudano 4:37
15. "Sunset People"   Pete Bellotte, Harold Faltermeyer, Keith Forsey 6:27

Deluxe edition

In 2003, Universal Music re-issued Bad Girls as a digitally remastered and expanded deluxe edition.
Disc one
Remastered original album with bonus track.
16. "Bad Girls" (Demo version) - 3:59
Disc two
Contains a selection of 12" versions and extended mixes from the years 1977-1980.
  1. "I Feel Love" (12" Version) (Bellotte, Moroder, Summer) - 8:12
  2. "Last Dance" (Paul Jabara) - 8:12
  3. MacArthur Park Suite: "MacArthur Park"/"One of a Kind"/"Heaven Knows"/"MacArthur Park (Reprise)" (Bellotte, Mathieson, Moroder, Summer, Jimmy Webb) (12" Single Mix) - 17:37
  4. "Hot Stuff" (12" Version) - 6:47
  5. "Bad Girls" (12" Version) - 4:57
  6. "Walk Away" (12" Version) - 7:16
  7. "Dim All the Lights" (12" Version) - 7:14
  8. "No More Tears (Enough Is Enough)" (Duet with Barbra Streisand) (Roberts, Jabara) - 11:45
  9. "On the Radio" (Long Version) (Moroder, Summer) - 7:34
    • From 1979 soundtrack Foxes. Original version appears on On the Radio: Greatest Hits Volumes I & II




  • Producers: Donna Summer, Giorgio Moroder, Pete Bellotte, Harold Faltermeyer
  • Engineer: Jason Corsaro
  • Production manager: Budd Tunick
  • Drum programming: Jimmy Bralower
  • Art direction: Jeffrey Kent Ayeroff
  • Design: Jeffrey Kent Ayeroff, Jeri McManus

No comments:

Post a Comment